2022-12-09 13:47:26

No Steal, but Turnover

2010.07.20 09:25

Green #92 taps the ball away from Red #7 while the later is dribbling. Green #33 and Red #7 competes for the loose ball and a jump ball situation is called. Green gains possession under Alternating Possession Rule.

In this play, despite being the player who taps the ball away from Red #7, Green #92 is not charged for a steal. The jump ball situation was caused by Green #33 and Red #7. Since Red lost the possession, Red #7 is charged a turnover and Green #33 is charged for a steal since he forced the jump ball situation. This is the “only time a steal can be charged when the ball goes dead“. According to the Statistician’s Manual, “when the actions of a defensive player causes a held ball to occur and his team wins possession as a result of the alternating possession rule“, a steal will be charged.

(Note, the whistle was blown before Green #7 grabs the ball and thus was not involved in this play for any statistical measures)

The only time a steal can be charged when the ball goes dead is when the actions of a defensive player causes a held ball to occur and his team wins possession as a result of the alternating possession rule.
STLTOV